jump to navigation

Life of A Lantern Boy November 17, 2008

Posted by C0Y in Life, People.
Tags: ,
trackback

The Lantern Boy

Where will I go?

I have to warn you. I’m going a bit serious on this one so here it is….

We have all been a child once, and it is probably one of the best moments in our lives. It’s the time filled with fun and laughter, and the time when we think of nothing else but joys and happiness. I saw these things in the park last Sunday, and I can clearly see the happiness in each kids eyes as they play with their family in the playground.

But somewhere in the same world, in the same time, and in the same park, lies a child whose life seems to skip the part of good childhood memories. A kid selling lanterns on the street. I haven’t had a chance to talk and ask his name, so I’ll just call him the “Lantern Boy”.

Lantern Boy

when can I play…

He’s just around 8-10 years old, and he goes around the park looking for anyone who would be willing to buy one of his small lanterns. He may be young, but he walks and talks like that of people twice his age. Though not his choice, he is forced to act and work like older people in order to have something to eat or help the family get it through the day.

At one point, I caught him looking at the play ground seeing all the kids, and it’s just heart breaking. Maybe in those eyes lies a longing for the happiness he should have had if times would have been better.

Lantern Boy

I wish life were better…

But even if life is hard for this Lantern Boy, I know that deep inside there, still lies a child. I saw the look of hope, and a boy’s limitless dreams and imagination when I saw him with his head up to the sky as the water splashes from the fountain, and it was there that I came to realize…. He is still just a kid.

3 Critical:

  1. Sad But True – times are hard, and so are the lives of many. If only kids were exempted of hardships.
  2. Is There Hope? – sometimes we ask this question and force our self to say there still is…
  3. Just A Kid – the sad part is…. he’s just a kid.
Comments»

1. raff monte - November 18, 2008

i got lanterns on my shoulder
they don’t even bother
i got to sell it’s a must
decorated coz’ its christmas


Leave a Reply

