jump to navigation

From Cartoon To Reality… Or Beyond. October 2, 2008

Posted by C0Y in News & Info, People, Technology.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

When I was a kid I used to love cartoon action series, and though they seem very far from reality back then, it never occurred to me that it was impossible. I guess most of you remembered the 30 minute American sci-fi animated tv-series “Centurions(photo above). If you do, I’m sure you recognize the daring’ Air Operations Expert (the one in blue) Ace McCloud and his flying gadget of course. That’s after they all shout “Power…. EXTREME EM EM EM” .

And talking about men flying, I really thought no one (in my lifetime) would ever dare to fly with a mechanical jet-powered wing like the famous Ace McCloud would… until I heard about the Swiss Adventurer Yves Rossy. (see photo below)

If you don’t know yet, Yves is nicknamed the “Jet Man” and “Fusion Man” and that’ because he’s the first person to build and successfully fly with a jet engine-powered wing strapped to the back, and yes, he also landed. And just months ago (May 14, 2008), eh made a test flight and landed somewhere in Britain after crossing the English Channel from France. Now that sounds like travelling to me.

So what lessons can we learn from this post? I guess most of the things we imagine in our childhood days are actually predictions of the future. And some made it a reality.

3 Critical:

  1. Extreme em em!!! – The Fusion Man is I guess the very definition of Extreme. Unless you show me a real man with adamantium claws.
  2. To Reality – if Ace McCloud is made to reality, then I guess the Iron Man, or RoboCop is not that far from a possibility either. Don’t you think?
  3. The Video – just in case your in doubts, here’s a video.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

