jump to navigation

Smallest DSLR Camera – Panasonic Lumix DMC-G1 September 14, 2008

Posted by C0Y in News & Info, Photos, Technology.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I love the colors and the size of most point-and-shot digital cameras (coz they’re pretty handy), but I kinda wish there was more to it in terms of depth of field controls, and a lot of features that D-SLR cameras have too. I’m sure I’m not alone with this one, and that’s probably why the smallest D-SLR camera was born.

Meet Lumix DMC-G1 by Panasonic. (smallest and lightest D-SLR camera yet)

The Lumix DMC-G1 camera is based on a new Micro Four Thirds System standard, which completely removes the need for an internal mirror structure like most D-SLR cameras do. This new system standard reduces the camera’s size by half, which means less weight too (385 grams only).

It’s a 12.1 megapixel camera that has several other features including Intelligent Exposure, AF Tracking, Face Detection, Intelligent Scene Selector, Mega O.I.S., Live MOS, My Color Mode, and a HDMI (High Definition Multimedia Interface) output. (I told you it’s a D-SLR camera)

(available in black, red, and blue)

Along it’s features comes available unique lens accessories too (Lumix G Vario 14-45mm/F3.5-5.6 ASPH/MEGA O.I.S. and the new Lumix G Vario 45-200mm/F4-5.6/MEGA O.I.S.). Panasonic has stated that the G1 will come with interchangeable lens in other colors (besides black) to compliment it’s body’s color, and it’s really-cool-gadget qualities.

Panasonic’s DMC-G1 will be available in November 2008, and the company will announce the price in October.

3 Critical:

  1. Finally!!! – I really wondered why they made D-SLR’s too serious of a camera staying with mostly black or gray color. But not anymore.
  2. I Think It Costs… – around $600-700 I guess. But it would be worth it.
  3. Dream Camera – it has style, it does what D-SLR cameras do, and its kinda handy. Now it’s officially my dream camera.
Comments»

1. John - September 14, 2008

I like the colors. Some style…Maybe the Mcintosh computers of the DSLR world. Do you think DSLR cameras are worth the price? I found this site that gives some info on them. ..http://www.dslrcamerareviews.com.. Just trying to decide whether to buy a DSLR or point and shoot. Maybe I should wait for this new Panasonic as price seems reasonble as well. Thanks for any advise.

2. Ethan - September 22, 2008

In response to a comment you posted at …http://danxcore.wordpress.com

The Lumix DMC-G1 is nothing compared to the 5D MKII or even the 5D. They are both top of the line Canon Pro cameras. They both have exceptional picture quality and great low-light capabilities. I may be sounding like a Canon fanboy here (which I am), but I would even take a Nikon (D200, D300 or D3) over the Lumix DMC-G1. Sure it may be innovative, but who wants a electronic viewfinder in an D-SLR? Isn’t the entire point of moving from a point-and shoot to an D-SLR to have more control?

Sure the G1 might be a good stepping stone to those who like the Lumix (source: …http://www.dpreview.com/previews/PanasonicG1/…), but for someone who is considering upping from their 10D to a new SLR, it is not a worthy recommendation for a couple of reasons.

1) He has a Canon DSLR, he likes it, no reason to switch companies, especially one as new to the DSLR field as Panasonic. Again, I have nothing against Panasonic, I have one of their video cameras and I love it.

2) He has Canon Lenses (assuming they are EF mounts) that will fit on the 5D MKII instead of having to buy a new DSLR and a bunch of new lenses. Also, it limits you to only Panasonic lenses (again source is …http://www.dpreview.com/previews/PanasonicG1/…), while with Canon you can buy Sigma and Tamrom lenses.

I have nothing against you or your blog, I just have something against the choice you are pushing on others. The 5D MKII (while expensive) is far superior to any other DSLR (though Nikons are close in comparison) and you are offering up what is a point and shoot with interchangeable lenses. Again with nothing against you or your blog (which is pretty interesting), just against the DSLR choice.

Also, for comparison:
…..http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canoneos5dmarkII/….

Also, to the person above me check out ….http://www.dpreview.com

3. everydayman - September 29, 2008

Thanks for the honest comment Ethan. Don’t worry, I also don’t have anything against you after this comment.

I just wanted to show the people that there are options, but I do appreciate you explanations. You really do have a point and comments like yours would help the people decide which camera they really want.

Thanks.

4. Igor P - May 20, 2009

Hello,

Thank you, it was interesting. But what to buy if i look for (like probably 99 % of point-and-shoot owners) for a decent camera, relatively small and with a great picture quality of a SLR camera? I do not need big zoom and confused when I see big zoom – it looks like big sensor and big lens for an amateur like me…
I simply wish to buy smth. that can offer crystal clear picture quality, small, preferrably 28 mm wide-angle, 2.5-3.0 LCD….


Leave a Reply

