jump to navigation

Loosen Up those Buttons Babe April 2, 2008

Posted by C0Y in Clothing, News & Info.
Tags: ,
trackback

girl

Ok, so theres one thing I would like to ask everyone. This question would probably make you look for a lot of photos in google just to see more evidence, and believe me, it’s authentic.

Let’s just say that I’ve had my share of searches, and it lead me to writing about it.

So anyway, the question I would like is:W hy do women’s clothes button from the left, while men’s button from the right?

I was really surprised about it to a point where I asked my colleagues to turn around so Ill see their blouses with buttons, and it indeed was true.

Is it uniform standards for designers?

They say it’s because 90 per cent of the world’s population is right-handed, and it is easier for right-handers to button shirts from the right, but aren’t girls counted when they did this?

Or maybe it has something to do with economics, a norm, once established, would resists change. At a time when all women’s shirts are buttoned from the left, it would have been risky for any single manufacturer to offer women’s shirts that buttoned from the right.Well anyway, nowadays, women are so used to it and they probably didn’t even notice it, so why bother.

But for those who knew about this, I bet they’ve been laughing for quite some time now every time they see someone wearing buttons that are out of their standard pattern.

Oh sh*t! I’m one of them.

3 Critical:

  1. Something Bout Sex? -I’m not really sure about my theory, but do you think the patterns has something to do with how convenient it is to take those clothes off when you’re just about having sex?
  2. Non Sense Really – if you look at how the buttons are placed in this photo and not more on anything else, you’ll probably catch yourself asking if it even matters where they are placed? . It makes no sense to me.
  3. Girl Convenient – after my moments of realization, I finally understood why. Since most people are right handed, it’s more convenient for girls to use their left hand to unbutton their clothes while their right hand does, whatever it is they do with it. Now that’s logical right?
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

